Osmosis

Photo courtesy of lisasolonynko

Photo courtesy of lisasolonynko

I had the pleasure of attending my sister’s church while visiting my sister and her husband in Mississippi.  One sentence said by Pastor Rob Futral of Broadmoor Baptist caught my attention (not an exact quote, though I try to relay it accurately):

You don’t serve where there is plenty of help.  You serve where help is needed.

Osmosis. What he said can be characterized in one word, osmosis.  In living creatures, water travels from cells that have more water per amount of solute to cells that have less water per amount of solute in order to create equilibrium.  A human body works most efficiently when functions are in a state of equilibrium.  The same can be said of the body of Christ, the church.  All ministries need helpers, but some ministries are in current need of more volunteers than others, so people should flow to the ministries that need help.  This explanation is what Pastor Futral was talking about.

To take it home, follow the same path in regards to Bible Study.  Do not study the same passages over and over again.  Study passages you are unfamiliar with in order to grow.  When I struggle with a situation, I do not read verses about a different topic that I already have tucked away in my heart with clear knowledge; I look up verses to deal with that situation.  My spiritual cells know plenty about love, but what can I quote about service, for example?  The things I do not know is what I study to learn and apply in my life.  I know how to apply love, but I need to know how to apply service; so I study more about service that my spiritual cells can get closer to reaching equilibrium through osmosis.

Til’ next time,
Allison L. Goodman

About Allison L. Goodman

I am a stay-at-home wife and mother. I fill my days making taking care of my daughter, encouraging others, cooking meals for my family, managing my resources through DIY projects, and writing.
This entry was posted in Bible, Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

