Green Soup

My husband had green onion soup once, and only his father has the recipe. Having failed to obtain the recipe by the time I wanted to cook the soup, I resorted to searching Pinterest (duh!) for a green onion soup recipe. Unfortunately, there were no recipes for Green Onion Soup that I could find, just French Onion Soup. So I chose one based on the Pioneer Woman’s recipe.

At the thought of having only onions as the source of nutritional value, I modified the recipe to include an additional green fruit and veggie – thus I was forced to drop the “Onion,” and the title became Green Soup. Enjoy the recipe.

Green Soup
1 stick of Butter
5 medium Green Onions, with stems
Chicken Broth
2 Avocados
3 Celery Stalks
2 tsp Garlic Powder
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste

Melt the butter on low in a Dutch oven while chopping the onions. Also chop approximately half of the onion stems (chop the other half and save for future seasoning by placing them in a ziplock bag and freezing them).

Stir fry the onions and stems in the pot.

Once the onions are done, add enough chicken broth that it almost covers the onions.

Chop 2 avocados and 3 celery stalks and add to the pot, along with the seasonings. Let it simmer for 30 minutes.

IMG_0833

About Allison L. Goodman

I am a stay-at-home wife and mother. I fill my days making taking care of my daughter, encouraging others, cooking meals for my family, managing my resources through DIY projects, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

