Trust and Contentedness

Trust in God doesn’t come easy, especially in a culture that teaches you to trust no one.  I’m in the midst of my job search.  At times it seems to go really well, and other times it seems…kind of…impossible to find a job in my career field.  I was reading Numbers 21:1-9 today and realized that I am just as bad as the Israelites.  For at least the past 5 chapters the Israelites have been hot-cold, hot-cold in their attitudes toward God.  They complain and blame Moses, Aaron, and God, then God sends a plague, fire, serpents, or other bad things, and the Israelites repent.  It’s an endless cycle of blame-repent, complain-repent.

I thought about how I complain a lot, and haven’t been trusting God with my job hunt.  God showed himself holy through the Israelites’ complaints (Numbers 20:13).  The Israelites should have just trusted God.  So should I.  Then I thought of Elspeth in my short film, Deployed.  I’m just like the Israelites, and I’m just like Elspeth when she throws down her Bible and blames God for not saving Jason and not providing her a job.  Philippians 4:11 came to mind: “for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.”  I thought I should just be content, but when I looked up the verse, I had not realized there was a section that comes before: “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.”  This verse is speaking in terms of needs and wants, not just any situation.

I continued reading.  “12I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound.  In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.  13I can do all things through him who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:12-13).  I had never connected verse 11 with verse 13 before.  I need a job, and “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  I will find a job.  But it’s up to God what job I get.  Proverbs 16 says, “The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord,” and later “The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps” (Proverbs 16:1, 9).

While I am searching and waiting for a job, I’m trusting in God to provide the answers.  Meanwhile, I will be content with what he has given me.  It’s a blessing in disguise, really.

Blessings:

  • Time off
  • Rest (Psalm 127:2)
  • Time to actively search for a job
  • Time to do personal projects
  • Time to volunteer
  • Time to spend with friends

and ultimately,

  • Time to spend with Him and grow spiritually.
About Allison L. Goodman

I am a stay-at-home wife and mother. I fill my days making taking care of my daughter, encouraging others, cooking meals for my family, managing my resources through DIY projects, and writing.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trust and Contentedness

  1. Can I just say what a relief to discover somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about on a internet. You really know how to bring an difficulty to light and make it important. Much more persons have to read this and realize this side in the story. I cant believe youre not additional well-liked mainly because you actually have the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

